The Armenian language, also known as Armenian Hayeren, forms a separate branch of the Indo-European language family.

Armenian is spoken by some 6.7 million people, and is the official language of Armenia.

Armenia flag

Five interesting facts about the Armenian language:

  • The oldest traces of Armenian texts can be found in Bible translations from the fifth century, 100 years after Christianity was made the national religion in Armenia.
  • The Armenian alphabet was created in around 405 AD. It contains 31 consonants and 7 vowels.
  • Armenian has a unique writing system with different punctuation to other Western languages. The full stop in Armenian looks like a colon in English “:”.
  • There are two standard forms of the Armenian language. Eastern Armenian is widely spoken in Armenia, Iran, and Georgia. Western Armenian is spoken by the Armenian diaspora living in other countries, including in the Middle East, the US, and Europe.
  • The Armenian alphabet is used to write numbers.
Get a quote